Summary: How many cpus ?

From: gabi_alves@uol.com.br
Date: Mon Nov 20 2000 - 10:41:13 CST


Hi

Almost people suggests using these commands:

/usr/platform/`uname -m`/sbin/prtdiag
mpstat
psrinfo -v

But, I solved my problem change to 0 this eeprom setting:

.upa-noprobe-mask

and I could disable/enable a CPU back by psradm command.

Thanks to:

Gary Mulder <gary@cgen.com>
Stuart, Reggie (GXS, Maxim) <Reggie.Stuart@gxs.ge.com>
Bhuwan Pandey <bhuwan_pandey@yahoo.com>
Changa Anderson <canderson@sitesmith.com>
Christopher Dingle <cmd@head-cfa.harvard.edu>
Rick Robino <rrobino@wavedivision.com>
Ram Rudra <rudrar@yahoo.com>
mike.marcell@cntcorp.com
Kulp, Scott (Scott)** CTR ** <skulp@lucent.com>
Valentin Popa <Val.Popa@East.Sun.COM>
Jason Ziemlak <jasonz@spanky.evaca.com>
Bill Fay <c-bill.fay@wcom.com>
jhartzen@csc.com
Tim Chong <oeyvind@ensim.com>
 Seco, Hugo Manuel (Hugo Manuel)** CTR **" <hseco@lucent.com>
Andy Lee <andyl@ffab.tide.ti.com>
Darryl C Price <darrylp@earthlink.net>
Tim Yocum <tim@yocum.org>
Erik Lembke <erik.lembke@force.de>
Alan Scott (QAS) <Alan.Scott@eas.ericsson.se>
anandvi@wipro.co.in
Richard Skelton <Richard.Skelton@brake.demon.co.uk>
Sathish Kumar Udupi <sathishu@wiproge.med.ge.com>
Madanagopalan SUBRAMANIAN <Madanagopalan.SUBRAMANIAN@gemplus.com>
Lusty Wench <lusty@lusty.org>
Theodore Q. Tickell <tickell@spypad.org>
Bill Fay <c-bill.fay@wcom.com>
sriramv@wipro.co.in ****
Nicole Skyrca <nskyrca@appliedtheory.com>
Jason Ziemlak <jasonz@spanky.evaca.com>
"O'Neal, Chris" <onealwc@agedwards.com>

My original question:

Hi Admins

I want to know how many cpus exists in my system, without turn off this
system.

I tried to use dmesg but the result is confused for me:

dmesg | grep -i ultra
cpu0: SUNW,UltraSPARC-II (upaid 0 impl 0x11 ver 0x20 clock 296 MHz)
root nexus = Sun (TM) Enterprise 250 (2 X UltraSPARC-II 296MHz)

prtdiag shows:

========================= CPUs =========================

Run Ecache CPU CPU
Brd CPU Module MHz MB Impl. Mask
--- --- ------- ----- ------ ------ ----
SYS 0 0 296 2.0 US-II 2.0

I dont know if I have just one CPU or if there are two and the second is
disable or is not working
fine.

Any help will be very appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Gabi

S
U BEFORE POSTING please READ the FAQ located at
N ftp://ftp.cs.toronto.edu/pub/jdd/sun-managers/faq
. and the list POLICY statement located at
M ftp://ftp.cs.toronto.edu/pub/jdd/sun-managers/policy
A To submit questions/summaries to this list send your email message to:
N sun-managers@sunmanagers.ececs.uc.edu
A To unsubscribe from this list please send an email message to:
G majordomo@sunmanagers.ececs.uc.edu
E and in the BODY type:
R unsubscribe sun-managers
S Or
. unsubscribe sun-managers original@subscription.address
L To view an archive of this list please visit:
I http://www.latech.edu/sunman.html
S
T



This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.2 : Fri Sep 28 2001 - 23:14:23 CDT